Independence Day Celebrations, 2007

                        A function to commemorate 60th Independence Day was celebrated here today in the High Court premises.  Hon'ble Mr. Justice Vijender Jain, Chief Justice was the Chief Guest. Besides High Court Judges, the function was attended by former Hon'ble Judges; Members of the Executive of High Court Bar Association, Senior Advocates; Judicial Officers from Chandigarh, Panchkula, Mohali and  High Court Staff.  Hon'ble Mr.Justice J.S.Khehar and Hon'ble Mr.Justice Mehtab S.Gill welcomed the Chief Guest.  The function started with the hoisting of tricolour by Hon'ble the Chief Justice.  It was followed by National Anthem.  The Jawans of ITBP gave the ceremonial salute.  Speaking on the occasion, Hon'ble the Chief Guest stressed the need for social justice.  Describing the achievements of the Punjab and Haryana High Court, Hon'ble the Chief Justice said that his endeavour is to provide justice at the door steps.  Hon'ble the Chief Justice highlighted that a Mobile Court has also been set up at Punhana block of Mewat District.  He also pointed out that Punjab State has also come forward to set up two or three such Courts in Punjab.  The function ended with a foot-tapping performance by the High Court Bhangara team.  The function was followed by the inauguration of Photography exhibition by Hon'ble the Chief Justice.  The exhibition is the outcome of a Photography and Painting competition on the theme of ‘Life and Architecture of the Punjab and Haryana High Court'. Whereas Mr. Sanjeev Sharma; Mr. Vikram Joy and Mr. Vinay Malik won Ist, 2nd and 3rd prizes in the Professional category:  Ms.Isha Sharma, Mr. P.R.Luthra and Dr. Shubh Mohan Singh won the Ist, 2nd and 3rd prizes in the Amateur Category.  Similarly Ms.Babli, Mr.Razak and Mr.Arshpreet Singh won the Ist, 2nd and 3rd prizes in the Group A Category of Painting Competition: Mr.Tsewang Lama, Ms.Rimaljeet Kaur and Mr.Nitin Chadha won the Ist, 2nd and 3rd prizes in the Group B category.  The exhibition will remain open till 21.8.2007.  The Organizing Committee comprised Mr.Vivek Atray, Prof.Rajnish Wattas, Mr.V.N.Singh, Prof.Bipin Malik, Prof.Ravinder Sharma and Prof.Bheem Malhotra.  The exhibition was organized under the guidance of Hon'ble Mr.Justice K.S.Garewal  Judge of Punjab and Haryana High Court.